Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me


Written by  Sep 25, 2017

KAMPALA- Uganda’s ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party expanded their majority in Parliament, with sweet victories in the newly created districts of Pakwach, Namisindwa, Rukiga and Bunyangabu.

Under the ingenious command of the Secretary General, Mrs. Justine Kasule Lumumba, NRM swept the district Woman Parliamentary seats in Pakwach, Namisindwa, Rukiga and Bunyangabu to add to take their tally in parliament to the invincible 303 majority in the ten parliament of 450 MPs.

SG Lumumba took full charge of the NRM troops in the absence of the party chairman, Gen. Yoweri Museveni who was away for a full week in the United States of Amerika (USA) on official duties at the New York based United Nations (UN).

If anything,   Gen. Museveni was not missed at all on the campaign trail as SG Lumumba marshalled her troops to the opposition a huge blow especially FDC’s Dr. Kizza Besigye Kifeefe who traversed villages of the newly created districts with anti NRM rhetoric   that the populace refused to heed.

Lumumba was able to coordinate the NRM leaders whom she dispatched in the new districts including but not limited the Prime Minister Dr. Livingstone Ruhakana Rugunda who led NRM in Rukiga, her deputy Richard Todwong and NRM vice for Northern Uganda Sam Engola in Pakwach.

In Bunyangabu, Lumumba was there with Mike Mukula, NRM vice chairman for Eastern region before she left for Kyotera where she met Alhaj Moses Kigongo on the campaign trail.  Lumumba was also in Namasindwa with Michael Werikhe and other NRM leaders in Bugisu sub-region   

It was a dispiriting outcome for opposition, who were optimistic that the bad economy; biting poverty; high levels of unemployment; massive corruption would help them prevail in new districts.

With the exception of the Democratic Party that won surprisingly the Kyotera district woman seat thanks to some mistake in the NRM primaries, the rest of the seats went to NRM. 



Woman MP

  1. Peace Mutuuzo (NRM) 24,870
  2. Nyakaisiki Dorothy (FDC) 5,536
  3. Kiiza Lydia (IND) 1,892

District Chairperson

  1. Ategeka James (NRM) 25, 811
  2. Tweyongyere Silver (FDC) 5,136


  1. Muganzi Richard (IND) 1,083



Woman MP

  1. Sentongo Robinah (DP) 21,731
  2. Nakitende Rachael (NRM) 15,511
  3. Nantongo Cissy (IND) 3,272
  4. Nabbaale Joweria (IND) 266.


District Chairperson

  1. Kintu Kisekulo (NRM) 19,481
  2. Lubega Charles (IND) 10,692
  3. Balojja Tom (DP) 10,080
  4. Kaggwa Joseph (IND) 1482
  5. Mugerwa Anthony (IND) 476
  6. Sekwe Gerald (IND) 233




Woman MP

  1. Grace Watua (NRM) 23,819
  2. Netalisire Sarah (IND) 15,457
  3. Watsemba Doreen (FDC) 3780


District Chairperson

  1. Wopuwa George William (NRM) 25,052



Woman MP

  1. Avur Pacuto (NRM) 19,138
  2. Acayo Christine (IND) 11,568
  3. Binega Prosca (FDC) 854


District Chairman

  1. Omito Robert (NRM) 21,982


  1. Okumu Robert (IND) 9,761


  1. Alenyo George (IND) 1,894


  1. Olore Denis (IND) 1,611




Woman MP

  1. Kamusiime Caroline (NRM) 17,507
  2. Arituha Shillah (FDC) 7305


District Chairperson

  1. Dr Alexander Kampikaho (NRM) 20,476
  2. Ambrose Aharimpisya (FDC) 4,596


For breaking, authentic, and exclusive stories on politics, business, fashion, sports etc, please share this story and like our page #EyeWitness24

Eyewitness 24

Unmasking the hidden truth

Website: eyewitness24.com
  1. Popular
  2. Trending

News Archive

« October 2021 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31